DEV Community

Rachel Bird
Rachel Bird

Posted on

Nevertheless, Rachel Bird Coded

I began coding because...

I needed to do work that challenged me intellectually, and also rewarded me financially.

I'm currently hacking on...

Working Women Advocates, an app I created for a hackathon at my web development boot camp, Fullstack Academy. It's designed to connect working women who are experiencing difficulties in the workplace privately and securely with advocates who provide support and guidance.

I'm excited about...

Working Women Advocates! We're brand new and forming as a nonprofit. We're super busy and have achieved a lot already. Just had our first event this past weekend! If you'd like to learn more and even get involved, check out us out here. You can also follow us on Twitter.

My advice for other women who code is...

Be sure to network with other women in tech, as well as other working women. There are great organizations to join like Systers, SheNomads, PayUp, Girl Develop It, and Woman Who Code, to name just a few. The understanding and support I've been met with through these groups has been invaluable.

Also, find allies who have your back! I found people like this among my coworkers, on Twitter, and through school. They will not tolerate me having to put up with any crap, and I know I can call on them anytime if I need their help.

Top comments (0)