DEV Community

Cover image for Salesforce Data Integration using Heroku Connect
CodingSalesforce
CodingSalesforce

Posted on

Salesforce Data Integration using Heroku Connect

This blog will provide a high-level overview of how I used Heroku Connect to bring data to a Heroku app built with Lightning Web Component Open Source. I will go over the definition, the setup, configurations, and the result.

Heroku Connect

Heroku Connect is an add-on that synchronizes data between your Salesforce organization and a Heroku Postgres database. Using Heroku Connect with Heroku Postgres, you can build custom applications that interact with your Salesforce data.

Setup

I created a simple app to showcase a list of puppies available for sale. I used Lightning Web Components Open Source and Salesforce Design System. I set up a simple Express server, connected postgres using URI, and used node-postgres to query the database. The app was deployed to Heroku.

In Salesforce, I created a custom object to store information about the puppies such as age, name, and breed.

Configuration

I logged in to the Heroku dashboard, navigated to resources, and selected two add-ons: Heroku connect and Heroku Postgres to use as a database.

heroku dashboard

Next, I mapped my custom objects and necessary fields.

heroku mapping

Then restarted the app to apply the changes.

Result

After following all steps listed above, I was able to view the Salesforce data in my app.
puppies gallery

I logged in to Salesforce, updated the second puppy's name from Berlin to Rio.

puppies images

After the change, I opened the Heroku app and the name change was reflected.

puppies images after

Conclusion

By utilizing Heroku connect, I was able to replica my Salesforce data and display it on a public website for all users to see. While the use case that I explored only needed one-way communication, Heroku connect also has bidirectional data replication. This is useful in cases where users need to create or update information stored in Salesforce. To learn more and view limitations, refer to the documentation Heroku.

Top comments (0)