DEV Community

Duzmath Lajos
Duzmath Lajos

Posted on

Advice needed

Hello Everyone!

I do not know, if this is the appropriate forum or site to ask my questions, but I am a bit lost.

Right now, I am working as a Jira / Atlassian developer at a company, which means, that I am coding quite a lot in Adaptavist Scriptrunner addon's built-in coding features. (Scripted post-functions, scripted listeners, scripted fields etc.)

The language the addon uses is Groovy, which is similar to Java, as some of you might know.
I feel like I am doing well in my job, also I love doing coding during my job.
That is the reason, that in the future I want to step up one level in coding, and not be a Jira / Atlassian developer, but work as a normal developer.

During the 2020-2021 pandemic, I was doing quite a lot of frontend coding, so I had a mediocre knowledge in HTML, CSS, SASS, Vanilla JS. I really liked that part, I even managed to recreate a boardgame I had, in plain HTML, CSS, VanillaJS.
Until the realisation struck, that VanillaJS is not a viable career option anymore.
I started learning React, then Angular...and they were overwhelming.
I gave some tries to both of them, but I couldn't get the hang of none of them. They were overwhelming, and I am totally unable to understand those frameworks/libraries, and unfortunately, that's a fact. They are not for me.

So, right now, here I am, loving frontend development, not understanding the currently popping frameworks and libraries, and wanting to be a full time "coder"/developer.

And the question here is, what are my options in your opinion?
Any advice is kindly appreciated.

Thanks in advance for your feedback!

Top comments (0)