DEV Community

Cover image for 🤪 Emojify Text Bookmarklet
Chris Wachtman
Chris Wachtman

Posted on

🤪 Emojify Text Bookmarklet

For those who haven't heard:
A bookmarklet is a bookmark that you can add to your web browser except rather than navigating to a URL it runs a bit of javascript on the current page. Handy for making small tweaks to webpages or for devs who find themselves frequently typing the same script into the browser console.

I'm a big fan of bookmarklets, yet I only have a small handful that I find compelling enough to use regularly, and even fewer that are worthy of recommending to others.

Now I have created one that I will be clicking daily just for fun. Let me introduce to you the Emojify Text Bookmarklet:

I would have liked to use an existing map of emojis to words. I did not find one, but the emojibase shortcodes table was very helpful for building my map. On the plus side, building my own map enabled me to include certain mappings that are tailored to the text that I personally am likely to encounter (like parkour, javascript, & nightowl) which significantly increases the level of joy that I get from this bookmarklet.

What other words would you map to emoji?

Top comments (0)