DEV Community

Cover image for The Dilemma of a Computer Science Student, Grade or Experience?
ogoh cyril
ogoh cyril

Posted on • Updated on

The Dilemma of a Computer Science Student, Grade or Experience?

What do I need?
*A first-class result with low programming skills?
*Or a stack of programming experience and completed project then a low or average grade?

So first off, I don’t mean you can’t have high grade and learn a new technology but in my case I can’t.

*Because if you deep into coding you will realise that learning a new framework means countless practices to get familiar with the syntax and the structure and if you get excited in the process of learning and encounter a bug then it a week of sleepless night and bloodshot eyes if you can’t find a solution on Stack-overflow or Google *

But even though that may not your case

Attending lectures and understanding it, and other extra-curricular activity can be a troll, like it requires a lot dedication to get high grade.

sigh

And in my university am mostly taught obsolete technology, nothing really current or in trends or framework which I Like or prefer

Am not saying that what am being taught is a total waste but I get this view that this makes me inexperience to the current Job market and other stuff.

He who hesitates is lost …

that the motto I use

So, I mostly keep to trend trying to learn, test and implement new feature
I once tried coding in school and had series of burn-out my grade fell and then I panic. I dismiss the thought of building actual project in school and just sticking with my routine

But
I been thinking and wondering what is best for me that’s why am seeking advice?

Very good grades?
Or
A ton of completed project to show my employer

Am in my second year At Veritas University, Abuja.

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
brandinchiu profile image
Brandin Chiu

In my opinion, experience is what will get you the job.

In ten years I've never been asked for grades or transcripts.

However, understanding the core fundamentals of development/programming is vitally important.

The stronger your theoretical background, the easier time you will have picking up new concepts/frameworks/tools (usually).

In that respect, education should be treated more as a personal investment in yourself, as opposed to a stepping stone to a job.

If you're incapable of doing both education and portfolio building at the same time (which is perfectly reasonable), then I think focusing on education is appropriate.

You'll feel the returns on that investment for longer than learning any one piece of technology.

Collapse
 
codemouse92 profile image
Jason C. McDonald • Edited

100% this. I couldn't have said it any better myself!

P.S. Whether that education comes from a college or self-study from high quality courses and books depends on your needs as a learner. It really doesn't matter which path you take here, except in as far as it helps or harms the learning process for you.

Collapse
 
mxldevs profile image
MxL Devs • Edited

Focus on both. If you don't have time, I'd focus on grades. Obsolete tech is obsolete for a reason but they're sort of like basic principles.

80% of computer science for me was theory and concepts. Actual programming was just a prerequisite to be able to explore different fields.

If you just want to focus on portfolio, there are other possibly less expensive options than a degree in computer science.