DEV Community

Cover image for What do you think you should be doing?
David Herrera
David Herrera

Posted on

What do you think you should be doing?

I attended two years ago to "Agiles 2015" a Latin America conference of agile methodologies, one of sessions that liked me was about motivate teams, there was a question that left me thinking: "What do you think you should be doing inside the team?".

I thought when you are developer many times you dont have option to choose the project or app where will you work, you are assigned to a team and there you play a role, like: full stack, backend, frontend, dba, etc, but what if you want to try a new stack or be part of other teams where are using new technologies?, what about if you're interested on be leader or do you have preferences for testing or dev-ops practices?

Can you imagine if you could choose?
Yes, you will love it, be more happy so it will impact on your productivity, career and in the engagement with the team and even with the company.

There's nothing that makes you happier than doing what you really like.

So I asked to my team (18 devs), for my surprise 80% of they answered that want do something that they are not working now. It was a challenge so the next step was facilitate their work, re-organize teams and roles, now two years later finally we are on this road.

I encourage you to ask this question to your team or at least propose it.

Top comments (0)