DEV Community

Cover image for Stream Idea - Teaching Go Live
Donald Feury
Donald Feury

Posted on • Updated on

Stream Idea - Teaching Go Live

So I've been contemplating ways to make my stream more valuable to the audience. Games are, well, games. Live coding, at least to me, is super boring and hard to follow at times.

So I had an idea, what about offering to teach Go live, doing code reviews, or just offering help with someone's code? What do ya'll think about that idea and do you have your own?

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
shiraazm profile image
Shiraaz Moollatjie • Edited

It's an interesting concept. I watched a few coding streams before and it doesn't seem exciting to me. So definitely needs to be more "watchable" to an audience.

I think offering to teach is already done via courses, but this is more personal so it has that going for it.

Code reviews are cool, but are you going to be yourself or assume an on screen character? A rage coder would be funny.

Offering help is also cool, I think this could work. But you need an audience first to get the ball rolling on this one. Although, you could ask your buddies to be the ones you're helping.

Collapse
 
dak425 profile image
Donald Feury

yeah I'm very bleh about live coding, its just not very interesting to me, nor do I have any real interest to do it.

I believe the main advantage of teaching live is the same reason people will pay hundreds of dollars to attend online workshops. They can ask questions and get a more personalized experience. Except in my case, its free.

It would just be myself doing the reviews. It works something along the lines of, people would submit requests to have a review done, and after I collect enough, I do a stream where I just do the reviews.