DEV Community

Cover image for Aura Theme v2.0.0 is out now! πŸ₯³ πŸŽ‰
Dalton Menezes
Dalton Menezes

Posted on

Aura Theme v2.0.0 is out now! πŸ₯³ πŸŽ‰

Hi folks, I'm glad to share with you Aura Theme v2.0.0 with a lot of cool new features.

  1. The entire project was recreated from scratch using TypeScript
  2. Color schemes have been improved
  3. Added Aura CLI
  4. Added Aura API
  5. New ports have been added, the current full list of ports is:
    • Visual Studio Code
    • Sublime Text
    • CodeSandbox
    • Hyper
    • Windows Terminal
    • Alacritty
    • iTerm
    • rxvt-unicode
    • Terminal.app
    • GNOME Terminal
    • Kitty
    • Chrome
    • Firefox
    • Vivaldi
    • Insomnia
    • Telegram Desktop
    • Slack

And more ports will come soon! πŸš€

You can find all themes at:
https://github.com/daltonmenezes/aura-theme

Now, let's take a look at some of the available ports:

Visual Studio Code

Visual Studio Code Preview

Hyper terminal

Hyper Preview

Insomnia

Insomnia Preview

Firefox

Firefox Preview

I hope you guys enjoy it as much as I do πŸ’œ

The repo is participating in the Hacktoberfest, so If you would like to contribute by creating new ports, you can open an issue or get an existing one asking for it and reading the docs, also you can reach me here or on GitHub if you need some help. πŸ’œ

Top comments (89)

Collapse
 
thelimon profile image
Juan David • Edited

I really hate colorful themes like One Dark Pro, but this theme is exactly what I've been looking for, it looks really good on my Angular enviroment, thank you for it.

@daltonmenezes
alt text for accessibility
Look tags are not really readable, is it normal?

Collapse
 
daltonmenezes profile image
Dalton Menezes

I'm glad to read this Juan, and thank you so much for using Aura Theme. πŸ’œ

About the tags, I'll check it and try to make it better but I have to think about it, because change the color of selection will impact all the ports, but any changes you'll receive automatically by vscode extension update. Thanks for the feedback.

Collapse
 
daltonmenezes profile image
Dalton Menezes

@thelimon how about this one?
img

Thread Thread
 
daltonmenezes profile image
Dalton Menezes

@thelimon
Fix released on v2.1.0 πŸ’œ

Thread Thread
 
thelimon profile image
Juan David

@daltonmenezes It looks so much better now, thanks man <3
alt text for accessibility

Collapse
 
codesimonwise profile image
Simon Rabuogi

now a second day trying to find it in the extension market place via vs code
what am i not doing right

Collapse
 
iamaliahad profile image
Ali Ahad

I really love this theme. I am using on Linux mint.

Collapse
 
iamaliahad profile image
Ali Ahad

The chrome browser, terminal and vscode looks so good.

Collapse
 
theabhayprajapati profile image
Abhay Prajapati

it's so AURA,

Collapse
 
claudioalberto profile image
Claudio Alberto Faria Gonçalves

I loved this theme and color scheme.

Collapse
 
naweli_verma profile image
Naweli Verma

I just installed it. It is soooooooooooo beautifullllllll

Collapse
 
friendbear profile image
T Kumagai

Firefox Theme Cool!!

Collapse
 
damiisdandy profile image
damilola jerugba

Been searching for this perfect theme, this looks so good, I'll try it out

Collapse
 
daltonmenezes profile image
Dalton Menezes

Glad to read this, let me know your impressions when you try it, please πŸ’œ

Collapse
 
damiisdandy profile image
damilola jerugba

I mostly code JSX (React), I'm not a fan of the color of the variables within JSX being same as the color of the text within the html tags, they are both white

Thread Thread
 
daltonmenezes profile image
Dalton Menezes • Edited

This is a tradeoff, vscode doesn't give me a good textmate scope to reach only the text in that case. If I change the color of the text, this change other things and the mess is done haha

img

Thread Thread
 
daltonmenezes profile image
Dalton Menezes

I made some progress on it, maybe it can be work, need more tests, thanks for your feedback.

img

Thread Thread
 
damiisdandy profile image
damilola jerugba

You are welcome

Thread Thread
 
daltonmenezes profile image
Dalton Menezes

@damiisdandy Fix released on v2.1.0 πŸ’œ

Thread Thread
 
damiisdandy profile image
damilola jerugba

πŸŽ‰

Collapse
 
adityasharma223 profile image
Aditya Sharma

Damn this looks so good. Already changed my alacritty theme, it would be great if you could make it for vim as well. I tried plugging the repo via "Vim Plug" but it wouldn't recognise the colorscheme when setting it in the config file.

Collapse
 
daltonmenezes profile image
Dalton Menezes • Edited

I'm glad to read this Aditya πŸ˜„, and thank you so much for using Aura Theme. πŸ’œ About the vim port, there's an open issue to it, subscribe to this issue on GitHub to get news about this port progress.

Collapse
 
ibrahmounk profile image
MoncΙ›rΙ›

Thank you for that man πŸ€“πŸ˜Ž
About to try it πŸ˜‹

Collapse
 
daltonmenezes profile image
Dalton Menezes

Thanks MoncΙ›rΙ›, just let me know your impressions when you try it, please πŸ’œ

Collapse
 
ibrahmounk profile image
MoncΙ›rΙ›

I had a problem to choose between Aura and AYU theme.

But I am currently using Aura Dark theme, It is very coolπŸ”₯

Thread Thread
 
daltonmenezes profile image
Dalton Menezes

I'm glad to read this, @ibrahmounk , thank you so much for using Aura Theme. πŸ’œ

Thread Thread
 
ibrahmounk profile image
MoncΙ›rΙ›

Thanks to you for sharing the article πŸ˜‰

Collapse
 
balduinofernando profile image
Balduino Fernando

This theme looks good...
I loved the Dark and Soft Dark flavours, but it should be awesome if there was a flat styled theme, I love the editor de the sidebar to have that minimal look and feel thing... But i really loved it. I'll stay with for now. Great work.

Collapse
 
daltonmenezes profile image
Dalton Menezes

I'm glad to read this Balduino, thank you so much for the feedback and for using Aura Theme. πŸ’œ

Collapse
 
mreduar profile image
Eduar Bastidas

It looks great for html and vue files, even with js. But for php not so much, there is a lot of purple for almost everything.

phpcode

Collapse
 
daltonmenezes profile image
Dalton Menezes

Thanks for the feedback, I'll improve it on the next release πŸ’œ

Collapse
 
kubeden profile image
Kuberdenis

Applied to Chrome just to 'test it out'. Applied to Windows Terminal as well now. Whops, I applied it to VS Code as well!

This is super great work, man!

Collapse
 
daltonmenezes profile image
Dalton Menezes

I'm glad to read this Denislav πŸ˜„, and thank you so much for using Aura Theme. πŸ’œ

Collapse
 
kkrypt0nn profile image
Krypton

Damn, I've been using the "Deep Ocean" Material theme for years but I definitely will try this one out, it seems amazing!
Great job there :)

Collapse
 
daltonmenezes profile image
Dalton Menezes

I'm glad to read this, @kkrypt0nn , just let me know your impressions of this when you try it, please πŸ’œ

Collapse
 
swagwik profile image
Sattwik Sahu

Niiicceee I'll try it out

Collapse
 
daltonmenezes profile image
Dalton Menezes

@swagwik let me know your impressions of this please πŸ’œ