DEV Community

Daniel Werner
Daniel Werner

Posted on • Originally published at danielwerner.dev on

A recap of 2019

This year is about to end, so I thought it might be interesting to write a recap of what I did this year. This is the first time I am writing this kind of blog post, hopefully there will be more of them in the future.

Open source development

I created my first open source project back in 2009, but after that, for a really long time I only used OSS in my projects, without giving back to the community. This year I’ve continued with the OSS development. I created two php packages: Laravel SchemaCrawler and PHP Quality Tools.

Developing my own packages was fun, but I only realized how cool the open source development is when I first time contributed to a “real” open-source project. I worked on a stripe update in a project which used the Omnipay Stripe package. During the update I found a bug in the package, fixed it, created a pull request, and it was merged!

Hacktoberfest

After the first successful contribution, the next challenge was the Hacktoberfest.

The contribution went well, I completed the challenge successfully and cannot wait to get my Hacktoberfest T-shirt. At the time of writing it is on its way, and already in Serbia, so it should arrive soon.

Writing

This year I started to write blog posts about some interesting topics I encounter in my day to day development. Writing and sharing knowledge is quite fun. I published 17 articles this year and the feedback I got is quite positive. I definitely want to continue with it next year. As these articles were published on 2 different websites, I’ve imported them all to my dev.to profile, if you are interested please check them out here: https://dev.to/daniel_werner

When I started blogging I also became more active on social networks like LinkedIn and Twitter, actually I don’t know why I didn’t do it earlier…

Hello, .dev!

As the .dev TLD became available on March 1, 2019, I recently moved my blog to the danielwerner.dev address.

PHP Serbia 2019

This year I attended the PHP Serbia conference for the first time, and it was amazing. Both the organization and the presentations were excellent, I’ll definitely attend to it next year as well. I was not aware that such a high quality conference is organized in Serbia. If you haven’t decided which conference to visit, I highly recommend checking it out.

Learning, learning, learning…

In the past year I learned a lot about Clean Code and TDD and I became a huge fan of them. But apart from this I’ve been learning new things every day, and I think it is quite important. Following other developers and learning from them is also a good way to improve ourselves and to keep up to date with the actual development trends.

Plans for 2020

I’d like to continue with the OSS work and blogging. But beside that I plan to do some new things as well: creating a local developer community: #FullStackSubotica. It would be great to have a tech community here, to organize meetups, learn from each other and have fun.

The post A recap of 2019 appeared first on Daniel Werner.

Top comments (0)