DEV Community

Cover image for Sitecore 10 and Docker - Learnings
Daniel Rolfe
Daniel Rolfe

Posted on • Updated on

Sitecore 10 and Docker - Learnings

I was excited to hear about Sitecore's version 10 release a couple of weeks ago mostly due to it's Docker support. During my exploration of both Docker and Sitecore 10 I discovered some gotchas and stumbling blocks which I catalog below.

To setup an initial clean installation I used this excellent guide:

https://containers.doc.sitecore.com/docs/intro

I'm not going to step through the entire process as the documentation is already excellent and there are already blog posts doing exactly that. Instead I am going to call out the problems I ran into during the process.

The TLS Problem

The first issue I ran into was a problem with the TLS version during this step:

https://containers.doc.sitecore.com/docs/run-sitecore#preparation

The work around with this was to run the following in the powershell session:

[Net.ServicePointManager]::SecurityProtocol = [Net.SecurityProtocolType]::Tls12
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

The Proxy Problem

Ah the proxy, a constant source of pain and suffering.

Alt Text

This turned out to be proxy settings. I was able to address the problem by adding proxy configuration to my Powershell profile.ps1. Note: I also added the TLS configuration to ensure it's in place for each session and some debug information written to the console.

[system.net.webrequest]::defaultwebproxy = new-object system.net.webproxy('proxy address')

[system.net.webrequest]::defaultwebproxy.credentials = New-object System.Net.NetworkCredential('login','password')
[system.net.webrequest]::defaultwebproxy.BypassProxyOnLocal = $true

[Net.ServicePointManager]::SecurityProtocol = [Net.SecurityProtocolType]::Tls12


Write-Output "Proxy set to proxy credentials with bypass on local true"
netsh winhttp show proxy

Write-Output "Set protocol default to Tls12"
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Tip: Running this command will reload the profile for the current powershell session.

 & $profile
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Windows 10 Build Woes

I was able to complete all of the subsequent steps except, when I attempted to run the last docker compose command, I received the following error:

ERROR: a Windows version 10.0.17763-based image is incompatible with a 10.0.17134 host
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

I had noted I wasn't running the required Windows 10 build most likely due to group policy within my organization. I had hoped I could get away with it, sadly this was not to be the case. To work around this I manually installed the May 2020 Update using this link:

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/windows10

Reverse Proxy Contention

After clearing these hurdles all the docker images started and appeared healthy except for the traefik reverse proxy.

Alt Text

The error in the console suggested some file contention so I shut down any IIS sites on the same machine and tried starting the image again.

Success!

Alt Text

Tip: docker ps is useful for checking on the status of the docker images as well as some other information.

docker ps
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Alt Text

The Bottom Line

The end result is a Sitecore 10 CD and CM running locally. This is by far the simplest and least time consuming plain vanilla Sitecore deployment I've experienced.

Alt Text

Alt Text


Next Up

Preparing our Visual Studio Solution for deployment in Docker

Alt Text

Top comments (0)