DEV Community

Cover image for Thinking about what am I building on this Sunday
Dan Mindru
Dan Mindru

Posted on

Thinking about what am I building on this Sunday

Today is Sunday morning and a time for reflection.

As an indie maker, you often think: am I making enough progress? Am I on the right track?

It's quite easy to fall into the trap of "not doing enough".
That's a horrible space, it makes you overwork and seem like no matter what you do, you're not moving fast enough.
That in turn likely leads to burnout or worse.

So I was sitting now and thinking, I wish I had written down a post every where with my status. With what I'm working on.
Right about now I can open those up and see how far I came.

2024 Summary

Things are good today, but I always want more.
Quite a few of my products are growing, making a (relatively) ok revenue.

So every year I'll write this short summary and list all my (active) projects. Next time when I feel it's to slow, I can compare with where I was. Hope this works 😬

Current projects

So let's get into it. I'll just list my stuff and see how it feels. Will probably have to iterate on the format but better to start somewhere.

Last year around this time I had 2 projects: Clobbr and Crontap. This year, I have...

Well, well, well, what do we have here?

Image description

Shipixen: Custom Boilerplates with Next.js, Blog & Shadcn UI

First up, we have Shipixen, a tool that generates boilerplate code faster than you can say "I shipped it". With just a few clicks, you'll have a stunning website, complete with an SEO-optimized blog and landing page. It's like having a genie in a bottle, but instead of granting wishes, it grants you a beautiful website. πŸ§žβ€β™‚οΈ

Founded 2023
Tech Stack React, Next.js 14 with App Router, Tailwind CSS, TypeScript, MDX powered by Contentlayer, Shadcn UI, Lucide icons
Platforms macOS and Windows

Image description

Hunted.Space: A Place to See Product Hunt Launch Calendars, Dashboards & Launch Day Statistics

Next on the list is Hunted.Space, a platform created by Alex, Sandra & I and we clearly had too much time on our hands. This platform provides insights and tools to help you navigate the treacherous waters of Product Hunt launches. With free dashboards, a launch calendar, and historical stats, you'll be armed with enough data to make even the most seasoned Product Hunter green with envy.

Founded 2023
Dashboards Provides insights on ranking, upvotes, comments, and upvote speed
Launch Calendar Helps determine the best day to launch
Historical Stats Displays historical data and current trends
Scheduling Allows users to schedule upcoming launches for increased exposure
Tech Stack Next.js, PlanetScale

Image description

Clobbr: API Load & Speed Test

Clobbr is like a personal trainer for your API endpoints. It helps you whip them into shape and ensures they can handle the pressure of real-world use. With its user-friendly interface and detailed result history, you'll be able to ship your API with the confidence of a superhero. πŸ¦Έβ€β™‚οΈ

Founded 2022
Pricing One-time payment, no subscriptions
Platform Mac, Windows, CLI
Data Storage Local, no data stored on servers
Open Source Partially open source
CI/CD Integration Supported
Advanced Debugging Copy request payload and response for failed requests
Part of Apihustle suite

Image description

Crontap: Schedule Recurring API Calls

Crontap is like a trusty sidekick, always there to make sure your API calls are running on schedule. With its human-readable syntax and integration with popular apps, you'll be able to automate tasks and receive notifications like a true tech wizard. πŸ§™β€β™‚οΈ

Founded 2023
Pricing Free sign-up, no credit card required
Integrations Zapier, Make, IFTTT, Slack, Telegram, Discord, and more
Use Cases Automated backups, maintenance, monitoring, payments, reminders, alerts, serverless functions, builds, reports, and messages

Morning Maker Show: A Morning Show That Keeps You Up to Date on #buildinpublic

Last but not least, we have the Morning Maker Show, a live podcast hosted by @TakoTreba and me - @d4m1n. We keep listeners in the loop with all things startups, indie maker, and #buildinpublic. It's like having a front-row seat to the wild world of build in public, without having to leave your cozy bed. πŸ›Œ

Format Live podcast
Schedule Every Monday and Friday afternoon
Topics Startups, indie makers, products, #buildinpublic
Membership Offers exclusive benefits for members
Newsletter Available to keep up with the top makers
Founded Year 2023 (based on the earliest episode date of December 1st, 2023 mentioned in the content)

And there you have it, folks!

Other notable mentions that I am maintaining (albeit not actively): MRRArt: Create unicode charts from your data and my umbrella service Apihustle: tools for testing & monitoring APIs.

Also, I sometimes write on my blog and website πŸ‘€

See you in 1 year!

Top comments (0)