DEV Community

Darwin Woodka
Darwin Woodka

Posted on

Nevertheless, Darwin Woodka Coded

I began coding because...

I started college as a music theatre major and saw it wasn't going to lead anywhere interesting. My dad was an engineer, and software engineering was a brand new thing in the 80s. It was challenging and fun.

I'm currently hacking on...

I've been mostly retired since 2003, when things kinda stopped being fun. When the Javascript kiddies with no software engineering experience were making more than me, and software process stopped seeming to matter, it felt like time to get out.

I'm excited about...

Companies once again (!) realizing that process and SQA are important and necessary, and women's voices are important to be included in that process.

My advice for other women who code is...

Don't let the bastards get you down. Speak up and say what needs to be said.

Top comments (0)