DEV Community

Cover image for Apple Mouse Design Fail Solved With Bash
Doug Bridgens
Doug Bridgens

Posted on

Apple Mouse Design Fail Solved With Bash

The Apple Mouse charging port is a weird design, because while charging the mouse it cannot be used. Aesthetics won out over user productivity.

On the one hand I appreciate that one hour of charging time every few weeks is a marginal outage. Infrequent enough that the disruption is almost forgotten each time.

Though on the other hand Mac OS is pretty unusable without a mouse. So my expensive iMac is bricked because the mouse has lies upside down with cable plugged into its belly.

But hey, I can appreciate the nice aesthetic while I sit and watch it charging. Oh wait..there's no pop-up charging indicator either, so I just guess when it's 100% 😡

And my mouse alway seems to run out of power when I'm fully into whatever I'm doing. Does this just happen to me?

I just couldn't stand it anymore, so I built a battery level warning script that I run in the background. If the mouse or keyboard fall below 20% charge then I get a simple pop-up window.

It's a gentle reminder to charge when I next leave my desk. No rush, no outage, because with 20% I still have a few days of battery left. I typically just plug it in when I finish that day.

tomtastic made some good improvements to the inner workings. And we made sure only two pop-up reminders per day, which feels about right.

It's a pretty simple bash script run from cron. Aesthetics may have won the design process at Apple, but we can solve the productivity problem it caused.

It's on GitHub: MagicPowerAlert

I got a pop-up this morning, which reminded me of the script running quietly in the background. And I am out for a meeting this afternoon, so I'll plug it in before I go. Whenever the pop-up appears it feels like a little win over poor design.

Top comments (0)