DEV Community

Deb Mayers
Deb Mayers

Posted on

Nevertheless, Deb Mayers Coded

Hi, I’m from a town of 260 people, got my undergraduate degree in Classical Civilization, I worked at a behavioural economics lab where I was introduced to technology and programming, but got into UX and design rather than developing. After I got a Masters in Ancient Cultures where I was interested in 3D modelling archaeological sites and got hooked on VR. During this degree I was told my dissertation was too ‘computer science-y’so decided to another Masters (conversion degree) in Information Technology/Software Development. In this degree I did my dissertation on the efficacy of VR as a tool to learn about Ancient History. It was very difficult, as a single mother, in a different country with no help, and I am still recovering. However, the thing that kept me going was designing and developing my VR experience.

I found a passion in VR and AR and am currently trying to make proof of concepts to bring the technology into my work.

I continued programming in 2019 because I want to learn the basics in order to create digital media experiences for museums and heritage sites, and XR experiences to help businesses.

I deserve credit for continuing to pursue my passion of VR and AR development despite being in a culture that does not accept it.

I hope to see my community grow this year as I create a ARVR meet-up in Glasgow.

Top comments (0)