DEV Community

Cover image for Nevertheless, Desi Coded
Desi
Desi

Posted on

Nevertheless, Desi Coded

Photo by Daria Nepriakhina on Unsplash

I started/continued to code in 2019 because...

I missed it. I started coding in grade 4, but mostly abandoned it over the years for other passions (and, of course, stigma that girls don't tech.) I also wanted to feel more confident and capable in my job as a QA Analyst, and also because I love learning.

I deserve credit for...

Getting involved in tech/dev communities, applying for and attending events, identifying myself as an engineer, and committing to and completing code courses.

I hope to see my tech community...

Take the lead in allyship for women and other marginalized groups. Inspired by this tweet:

I hope to continue seeing men stand up as allies when they see this sort of behavior toward women. Seeing others stand up this way empowers and teaches me how I can use my privilege to better advocate and ally for other marginalized groups as well and feel less scared.

(Does this sound like you? April shares some tips too!)

Top comments (0)