DEV Community

Ben Halpern for The DEV Team

Posted on

New Site Theme: "Minimal Light"

We just shipped a new theme to go along with "default", "night theme", and "pink theme". It's called "minimal light".

It uses more soft grays and whites than the default light theme and is less busy overall. Enjoy!

I already see a couple places where the colors need to be adjusted now that it is in prod, but that will be worked out shortly.

We currently have a dedicated set of themes, and don't allow full-on customization, because when things change we sometimes need to update all the themes. I'm not sure the interface would ever be so stable as to allow for arbitrary themes.

Any thoughts for additional themes? I feel like a "sunset theme" with subtle oranges could be nice. I could see a situation where we could allow folks to go from light to sunset to night themes automatically depending on time of day.

Reminder: you can also switch between serif and sans-serif fonts in /settings/misc.

Happy coding.

Top comments (19)

Collapse
 
stefandorresteijn profile image
Stefan Dorresteijn • Edited

I'm a fan. Love it! Minimalism is my jam. I haven't yet looked at how you've implemented custom themes but maybe it'd be an idea to allow user to upload their own themes and have other users use those themes?

Collapse
 
thefern profile image
Fernando B πŸš€

Omg my eyes have been burning at night, I didn't know about dark theme on misc settings. My day is complete now. 🀯

Collapse
 
jhuebel profile image
Jason Huebel

I would love to see a theme with more contrast between the foreground elements and the background. I really dislike the current trend in website design of grays on white or vice versa. It's hard on the eyes and more difficult to grok.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Duly noted! That's the reason we have themes.

If you want to create an issue in the repo specifically outlining what you're looking for it would be really helpful. πŸ™‚

Collapse
 
chiangs profile image
Stephen Chiang

I would really like a feature where it transitions from light to dark with time passing.

Collapse
 
anwar_nairi profile image
Anwar • Edited

Might be feasable if you provide a latitude/longitude, by computing daylight time span - nerds out shamelessly -

Collapse
 
nanythery profile image
Nadine M. ThΓͺry

It is awesome to have options, undoubtedly. However I do not feel in the need to have a wide range of theme options. I think that light and dark are reasonable choices.
I would ideally prefer more functionalities.

Collapse
 
yougotwill profile image
Will G • Edited

Out of curiosity was this new theme inspired by FB Messengers new look? Also a solarized light theme would be amazing. The dark theme is already close to solarized dark so no need for that.

Motivation for solarized light

So far its the best theme I have found for reading in places with lots of light and glare. Dark themes are great but sometimes it's very difficult to see in bright environments.

Collapse
 
link2twenty profile image
Andrew Bone

Aubergine soon? 😜

Collapse
 
ananyaneogi profile image
Ananya Neogi

Love πŸ‘ This πŸ‘ Minimal πŸ‘ Theme πŸ‘

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt β˜•

White navbar.. awesome !

Collapse
 
lauragift21 profile image
Gift Egwuenu

love it ❀️

Collapse
 
johnbwoodruff profile image
John Woodruff

Seriously awesome theme. I am immediately in love. 😍

Collapse
 
msfjarvis profile image
Harsh Shandilya

This is nice! Makes me wonder if we can somehow relay theme choices from the Android app's webview, would certainly be cool for it to follow the system theme paradigm being propagated by Android Q.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

We do this a bit in iOS land already. I bet we could do it in Android land.

Collapse
 
msfjarvis profile image
Harsh Shandilya

Oh great! Will give it a try when I'm back home.

Thread Thread
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

πŸ‘Œ Let me know if I misunderstood what you were asking about though.

Collapse
 
funcke profile image
Jonas Funcke

😍 i love it

Collapse
 
anwar_nairi profile image
Anwar

Keep up the good work! I am a big fan of the Dark Theme right now :)