DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Michael Tharrington for The DEV Team

Posted on

What was your win this week?

Hey peeps πŸ™Œ

Hope you all had a wonderful week.

Looking back on this past week, what was something you were proud of accomplishing?

All wins count β€” big or small πŸŽ‰

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Watching scary movies 😱

Zack Galifianakis flying through the sky with the caption, "Winning"

Top comments (38)

Collapse
 
ksolomon profile image
Keith Solomon

Let’s see, it’s been a busy week…

  • Upgraded my workhorse from a 13” M1 Air to a 15” M2 Air
  • Solved a particularly sticky issue one of the juniors was having
  • Represented the dev dept. on a client kickoff meeting
  • Got invited to participate in a panel at a conference for a local college
  • Prepped things for a new project starting soon
  • Wrote a how to for adding sites to Google Tag Manager (which is much harder than it needs to be πŸ™„)

Like I said, busy week…I’m sure there’s more, but my brain is cooked for the week… 😁

Collapse
 
dumebii profile image
Dumebi Okolo

Way to go!!!

Collapse
 
thatcomputerguy profile image
Griff Polk

Ye de 15” M2 is NICE

Collapse
 
pavelee profile image
PaweΕ‚ Ciosek • Edited

For the first time I participated in hacktoberfest! πŸ₯³ I did my first contribution and planted tree! 🌲🌍

Collapse
 
srbhr profile image
Saurabh Rai

Really amazing @pavelee for contributing to Hacktoberfest!

Collapse
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

Awesome 🀩
What did you create? what was the project about? πŸ˜€

Collapse
 
pavelee profile image
PaweΕ‚ Ciosek

Still working on the next one!

Thread Thread
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

Marvellous 🀩

Go kill the next one and May be then that create your own Open Source Project(I have seen you many but may be new problem 😊). I will be there cheering you up. πŸ₯³

Collapse
 
dumebii profile image
Dumebi Okolo

Awesome.

Collapse
 
polterguy profile image
Thomas Hansen

We hade the best bug i haver ever experienced in my life πŸ˜‚

Basically the bug proved that our chatbot increases sales by 400% on a Shopify website

Why? Because as our bug happened sales dropped like a stone in water for 4 days until we could fix the bug 😊

AINIRO and ChatGPT increases sales on a Shopify website by 400%

Some days you simply have to love the bug πŸ₯°

Collapse
 
thatcomputerguy profile image
Griff Polk

But… it’s a bug? But its good? But… it’s a bug. Brain… overload… programmer mind fail… ERROR 404, bug enjoyment not found AAAAAA

Collapse
 
polterguy profile image
Thomas Hansen

Hehehe πŸ˜‚

Thread Thread
 
thatcomputerguy profile image
Griff Polk

:) i knew just what to say

Collapse
 
dumebii profile image
Dumebi Okolo • Edited

-- Finally got my certificate from the university.

-- Finally started learning Ruby and wrote my first article on what I've learnt so far.

-- Got to see and catch up with some old friends. It was fun. πŸ˜„πŸ˜„

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Woot woot! Great Ruby article, Dumebi, and congrats on the cert. Plus, always nice catching up with old buds! πŸ™Œ

Collapse
 
dumebii profile image
Dumebi Okolo

Yeah! Thanks, Michael.! πŸ₯³

Collapse
 
tolyapro profile image
Tolya Pro • Edited

My win this week was publishing my first post on Dev.to! πŸš€πŸ“

Collapse
 
nathan_tarbert profile image
Nathan Tarbert

Congratulations!

Collapse
 
dumebii profile image
Dumebi Okolo

Way to go!! πŸ₯³ πŸ₯³

Collapse
 
andypiper profile image
Andy Piper

I got to hang out with this guy called @michaeltharrington in person, and check out his sweet synths collection!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Oh heck yeah! Definitely one of the biggest highlights of my week... and of course, we gotta prove it, right?

Andy Piper and I hanging out in real life... we're at my place, it's a close-up selfie style photo courtesy of Andy's extended arm... Just two geeks grinning at the camera. Good times!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Back from an enjoyable trip to Thailand πŸ™‚

Collapse
 
troy5890 profile image
Troy Harris

Discover MDN Docs for HTML, CSS, and JavaScript. This resource is so darn powerful!

Collapse
 
mrwensveen profile image
Matthijs Wensveen

Abso-frigging-lutely! I have it bookmarked with a keyword search in Firefox (though you could probably add it as a search option or something).

Collapse
 
troy5890 profile image
Troy Harris

Just added it to my bookmarks and it even has a web development guide! I'll be combing this and FreecodeCamp to make some interesting projects.

Collapse
 
andypiper profile image
Andy Piper

I went to #AllThingsOpen in Raleigh, and attended some great sessions. Also, the hallyway track was excellent - I met a bunch of my online friends in person.

Collapse
 
rycodes profile image
Ry

Got my first interview. I'm probably not the best fit for the company as they have not reached out to me again, but it's still a start and a big win for me.

Collapse
 
skreepao profile image
Maksym

My product is in the TOP 16 on Product Hunt
producthunt.com/posts/eyeyoga

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Upvoted! This sounds really creative and helpful.

Collapse
 
manchicken profile image
Mike Stemle

I have managed to get a lot of stuff ready for my presentation on November 8th. I even put together a little YouTube promo video, which was challenging.

I also got my #Hacktoberfest stuff done.

Collapse
 
integerman profile image
Matt Eland

Refactoring with C# hit Amazon for pre-order and I gave a good talk on data visualization at Momentum dev conference.

Collapse
 
mike-the-security-guy profile image
Michael Buckbee

Launched our first "serious" open source project, a web app firewall for Rails - github.com/Wafris/wafris-rb

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

I'm a little late here, but this is awesome Michael! Well done! πŸ™Œ

Collapse
 
easewithtuts profile image
V Sai Harsha

I have gotten total 10K views in my blog