DEV Community

Cover image for HNG INTERNSHIP 8 [HNGi8] IS HERE.
Dev-Tonia
Dev-Tonia

Posted on

HNG INTERNSHIP 8 [HNGi8] IS HERE.

Guess what? Your one and only has been accepted into HNGi8. This year's internship is operated by The Zuri team and in partnership with Ingressive For Good…

You would be asking what an HNG internship is. Let me feed your curiosity.

HNG internship is an annual internship run by Hotels .ng they're also the owners of Cars .ng. They give programmers and designer's an opportunity to work on numerous tasks, enabling them to enhance their skills and bring them to the industrial standard.

A good thing about the internship is that it takes place remotely. If you work through all odds and make it to the final stage you have a trophy which is the HNG T-shirt.

Why I Joined The Internship

This could be my first internship as a frontend developer and I pray these could also be my last Internship as I am hoping to be job-ready by the end of the internship. [ Mr. Mark didn’t promise us a job but it doesn't hurt to aim high or does it?. ]

With the help of the internship, I want to

  • Have the full grasp of frontend development, as I will be applying what I have learned during the just concluded Zuri training and the things I learned from tutorials.

  • Get myself acquainted with the industrial tools and a standard ways of doing things. As it is no longer news that I want to gain employment after the internship.

  • Be able to collaborate working under a team and also have the ability to work alone.

  • Develop my analytical and problem-solving skills.

You remember that I told you that the trophy πŸ† of being a finalist in the HNG T-shirt, so I want to get the T-shirt. Don't also forget that having an HNG finalist in my resume is a plus for me.

The truth is that I don't want to leave the internship the same way I entered. It will be an error.

Some Of The Tools I Will Be Using During The Internship As A Frontend Developer.

1 Figma: Figma is a cloud-based design tool that is similar to Sketch in functionality and features, but with big differences that make Figma better for team collaboration. Figma simplifies the design process and is more effective when used as a frontend developer. To learn more about Figma click here.

2 Git: Git is a free, open-source distributed version control system. It keeps track of projects and files as they change over time with the help of different contributors. To learn more about Git click here.

3 HTML: It is a Hypertext Markup Language, or HTML is the standard markup language for documents designed to be displayed in a web browser. It is used to structure the web page. To learn more about HTML click here.

4 JavaScript: it is a programming language that is used to add functionality to a web page. It is also a backend language with the help of a framework called node.js. To learn more about JavaScript click here.

5 PHP: It’s also a programming language, but it is used for the backend server. As a frontend developer, I will be consuming some of the API developed using the backend language. To learn more about PHP click here.

Finally, I want to thank you to HNG for giving me this great opportunity and to The Zuri team and Ingressive For Good for preparing me for this opportunity also.

I'm coming back with my trophy πŸ†.

Thanks for staying with me.

Top comments (0)