DEV Community

Cover image for A Brief Introduction To Me
Dexter St-Pierre
Dexter St-Pierre

Posted on

A Brief Introduction To Me

Hello! I just wanted to give you a brief introduction to who I am, what I do, and my purpose for starting to blog.

My name is Dexter St Pierre. I am a web developer based in St Paul, MN. I currently do some freelance as well as I work as a contractor for a construction company working on various internal tools used for tracking work orders, income, hours worked, equipment, and various other things. I build full stack web apps using Javascript and have recently become very interested in the JAM (JavaScript, APIs, Markup) stack and wanting to learn more and build more websites for various companies using it. Coming from a background of physical labor (I learned coding at a bootcamp) I am excited to bring the great possibilities of web apps and great websites into the worlds of construction, landscaping, and real estate, industries that are still largely running on manual processes

I am starting to blog for a few different reasons. I want to remember the things I have learned. I have recently come to the realization that over the last couple of years I have been learning so much that I forget a good portion of it shortly after learning it, and I don't remember how I learned much of what I know. So I want to have a record of when and how I learned things for my own reference in the future. I also want to add to the collective pool of information that is the internet. I can't count how many times I have struggled with something for hours and had a hard time finding the answer readily available on Google. I want to help people coming after me to be able to more easily solve the problems that I have also struggled with.

I have never been a blogger before, so my posts on here may be fairly irregular, I might write three times in one week and then not write again for 3 months. But when I struggle through something or learning something new and exciting I will make a point to write about it and share it for the world. Thank you for joining me on this journey.

Top comments (0)