DEV Community

Dhruv saini
Dhruv saini

Posted on

My Hacktoberfest Experience

I came to know about DEV community from Hactoberfest, therfore I am dedicating my first post here to my personal experience with Hacktoberfest.

Background

Before, I tell you about my experience I would like to say I am a complete newbie.
Before, this fest I have no experience in any such even. Earlier I used to think that you need to be an expert to contribute to such events which clearly is not true in this case.

I have little experience in competitive programming an the languages I have ever worked on are C, C++, Python , R, HTML with certain degree of understanding in MySQL database.

Alt Text

What I Learned From Hacktoberfest

Hacktoberfest has been amazing for me I learnt a lot from it. For the first time I worked in an actual team of like minded people to build GitHub repositories.

Apart from this wonderful experience of working with people from all over the world I also learnt a lot about GitHub such as pull request, solving merge conflicts, for the first time I used issues in a GitHub repository.

Overall I would say a great experience for me enjoyed every bit of it and looking forward to continue with more enthusiasm.

Top comments (0)