DEV Community

Cover image for How Learning React Improved My Skills in JS.
diiiiana99
diiiiana99

Posted on

How Learning React Improved My Skills in JS.

For me, this phase has been a whole journey and a massive learning experience.
There were a lot of topics I wanted to write about...

It was a lot easier to understand and use ReactJS than it was JS. As a beginner developer with a JavaScript experience, it took some time to learn React and start building web apps in a matter of days. It's the V(view part) of the MVC (Model-View-Controller) model, and it's also known as a JavaScript framework. Although, React isn't completely featured, but it benefited me from the open-source JavaScript User Interface(UI) module, which aids in task execution.
The most difficult part for me was figuring out how to locate and render a single review.

At first, it was difficult to construct a dynamic web application with HTML strings since it required extensive coding, but React JS eliminated that problem and made it so much easier which made fall in love with the language. It requires less coding while providing more features which is every developers' dream, let's be honest ;). First thing that I learned that React uses the JSX (JavaScript Extension) syntax, which is a special grammar that allows HTML quotes and HTML tag syntax to render certain subcomponents. It also allows you to create machine-readable codes.

Image description

A ReactJS web application consists of several components, each with its own logic and controls which was the part I liked the most and took the longest to have that "aha" moment. These components are in charge of producing a short, reusable piece of HTML code that you may use anywhere you need it. As I progressed and moved forward, it clicked to me that reusable code makes it easy to develop and maintain my apps. These Components can be stacked with one other to create sophisticated applications from simple building blocks. Moreover, I figured that in order to populate data in the HTML DOM, ReactJS uses a virtual DOM-based technique which was very interesting to learn. The virtual DOM is quick because it simply modifies individual DOM elements rather than reloading the entire DOM every time:

Image description

Lastly, as I understood, the majority of web developers are now using ReactJS because of its benefits that make our tasks easier to divide to its own thing but also connect them with functionalities and UI engagement because it comes with a large JavaScript library. Web developers like ourselves have more freedom with the JavaScript library since we can use it in whatever way we wish. In addition, testing ReactJS applications is a breeze. It provides a platform for developers to test and debug their programs using native tools. At the end,I was very happy that I was able to tackle the fundamentals of React and even more eager to dive in deeper to create awesome projects.

Top comments (0)