DEV Community

jkescueta
jkescueta

Posted on

What is LIS?

Some misconceptions I had about LIS

I used to be slightly unclear about what exactly LIS was as a field of study. I struggled to explain to my family what exactly LIS was and why I wanted to shift to B LIS, and I would just say to them that LIS was mainly about managing data. Even if I knew that the field was much broader and more inclusive than that, I didn't know how to describe LIS in simple words, which shows that at the core of the matter I didn't understand what LIS was about. Now after the first week of class I clearly understand the orthogonal relation of LIS to other fields of study in dealing the universe of documentation that is a product of other fields. The next time my family asks about LIS I am confident that I will be able to explain it to them.

Interesting LIS Topics

One LIS topic that I am interested about is information behavior. This is because my hobby is board games and video games, and the way that people interact with information in games is very crucial to their strategies and approaches to these games. One day I hope to design a board game and I feel that this topic will be beneficial to that process.

Top comments (0)