DEV Community

Daniil Baturin
Daniil Baturin

Posted on

Can we make searching for Hacktoberfest projects to contribute easier next year?

It was the first time I participated. I've heard something about the Hacktobefest before, but never paid attention—not least because contributing to various projects is a part of my daily work and life and I never looked for events encouraging people to contribute.

I have to admit the PR spam drama was what got me curious enough to actually take a look. Initially I thought I'll use the challenge to make some PRs I was going to make but kept leaving for later.

Then came the rules change. I thought if I registered for that thing anyway, I can as well use it as a challenge to find new interesting projects. Indeed, I discovered TL;DR pages and added some OCaml tools to their collection.

It may actually be good that Hacktoberfest 2020 essentially forced people to discover new projects if they want to participate.
However, I found searching for projects much more difficult than it should be. The /topics/hacktoberfest page doesn't provide an obvious way to search for more than one topic. I hope there is a way to do that, but I couldn't find it it.
Without an easy way to customize the search query, all you can do is to "load more" and hope for something that interests you.

If next year's Hacktoberfest will also be opt-in, I hope searching for projects will be made easier.

Top comments (0)