DEV Community

Udokaku Ugochukwu
Udokaku Ugochukwu

Posted on

HACKTOBERFEST RIDE

How I started

I first heard of hacktoberfest from a friend who participated Last year, and just getting started in open source less than a month, I decided to participate in this year's exercise.

What I gained from participating.

Getting started with Open source, I found it difficult identifying projects to make contribute. When this year Hacktoberfest began, I followed the laid out guidelines and joined their discord server,where project owners, gave details of the projects. This helped me identify projects to make contributions to.
Hacktoberfest helped me identify projects to exercise my knowledge and skillset. I have gained more confidence and understanding in open source contribution from Hacktoberfest. I would continue contributing to Open source this was super exciting and rewarding time.
I also learnt how to communicate efficiently with maintainers,and write good documentation.

My advice to participants

  • Don't see this as an avenue to getting Tee, forget the noise, learn through the process of contributing to Open Source. Hacktoberfest gives you a soft-landing into Open Source.
  • Be consistent and ask questions where necessary.

Top comments (0)