DEV Community

Andrew Tassone
Andrew Tassone

Posted on

Contributing to Telescope - Release 0.4

While its been a busy week studying for final exams, I was able to work on contributing to Seneca's open-source project, Telescope for my final project. I chose to fix the issue of the search page re-rerendering on input. This was due the HTML 5 attribute, autoFocus that was removed in a recent commit.

ESLint recommends against using the attribute for accessibility purposes, however some sources indicate that it is acceptable, so long as the page is mainly used for searching such as in this case.

Accessibility is very important for users on the web. I want t o ensure this does not impact screen readers in a negative way. I know fairly well how important they can be for people like myself who are visually impaired.

Moving forward, I plan to also fix the rendering of the page after text is placed in the input field. The search page is supposed to search for results after the user inputs text, but does not seem to work unless the search button is clicked.

Contributing to Telescope has been fun and provides me with more experience for working on larger, more complex projects. I will continue to contribute more to Telescope in the days ahead!

Top comments (0)