DEV Community

David Cantrell
David Cantrell

Posted on

The typeface you didn't know you wanted and were trained to hate

For the last several weeks I've been using Comic Mono in my terminal. It's a fixed width typeface based on the font that we've all been trained to despise and sneer at for almost 30 years, Comic Sans.

But you know what? Comic Mono works really well at small sizes even with my becoming-elderly failing eyes and my inability to always find my reading glasses. I can see plenty of code in my editor with lots of context. On a 40" screen at arm's length I can comfortably get 100 lines of text - so lots of context for the code I'm working on - in a terminal using 12pt text and read it easily.

Give it a go for a few days!

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
gillarohith profile image
Rohith Gilla

Very interesting!

Is it a Nerd font too?

Collapse
 
drhyde profile image
David Cantrell

Don't think so. My terminal (iterm) allows me to specify another font to fall back on for funky characters. If you're not using iterm then you should try that too!

Collapse
 
gillarohith profile image
Rohith Gilla

I see
Iโ€™m currently trying out ComicShanns

nerdfonts.com/font-downloads

Itโ€™s kind of similar