DEV Community

Duncan
Duncan

Posted on

Being proud of your progress

I'm going to start off by saying that I am not that much of a writer.
Recently I looked back on one of my longest-running projects (it's going further back than the git history exists).
Going back to that first commit made me proud of how far I've come as a java developer.
The reason that made me go back to that first commit was cleaning some methods that have not been really updated since 2018. The main change to those methods was some logic removal so I decided to remove them and switch to a single method.
Before I edited the code I decided to git-blame in IntelliJ and saw that the file has stayed basically the same since 2018/early 2019. Because of that, I decided to go back to the first commit of the project and compare the main class.
The results were shocking and I did not even recognize my own code style in there anymore.

Thank you for reading my first post on dev.to :)

For the ones interested here are some links to the files I mentioned in this post.
The main class: first commit vs current state as the time of writing.
The file that has not been edited since 2018: link

Top comments (0)