DEV Community

Edouble79
Edouble79

Posted on • Updated on

Blog Post #5:Learning Week of 10/18/2021

Hello everyone, week of October 18-22 was ups and downs. Tears, tears, and more tears because I was still having trouble with the coding language in Ruby(Codecademy) and how it applies in real life. As a former CPS teacher I had tools to use in class whether it was classroom management, how to speak, how to facilitate and how to execute the curriculum to my students. In this IT world I am having a difficult time learning what first_prisms, Blocks, Procs, Lambdas mean. Interpolation was another one!

Towards the end of the week I began another lesson called "Object-Oriented Programming" which was interesting and fun. Here's a syntax I learned in Ruby that describes @ symbol before a variable to signify that it is an instance variable.

class Person
  def initialize(name)
    @name = name
  end
end
matz = Person.new("Yukihiro")
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Another syntax I learned was that the attributes in a parameter correspond to what makes up a vehicle, see example below.

class Car  
  def initialize(make, model)
    @make = make
    @model = model
  end
end
Kitt = Car.new("Pontiac", "Trans Am")
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Top comments (0)