DEV Community

EdRome
EdRome

Posted on

Adding ads to OpenSource projects

Hi all,

I'd started my day as always and, when I was checking Twitter, I saw a post with an image showing somebody on github running an experiment about new ways to fund projects.

What's the experiment? Whenever standard 14 is installed, we'll display a message from a company that supports open source. Currently, these are Linode and LogRocket. The sponsorship pays directly for maintainer time. That is, writing new features, fixing bugs, answering user questions, and improving documentation.

I understand how complicated is receiving support to OSS, specially when nobody wants to support your project but there are lot of downloads. In my opinion, there should be better ways to earn money instead of showing ads on terminals, we just have to go deeper and find it out.

What do you think? Do you have a better idea to fund projects?

Here's the issue on github if you're interested in check it out.

Top comments (0)