DEV Community

Cover image for Why do most developers code at night?
Elsa
Elsa

Posted on

Why do most developers code at night?

I am not a developer.
I have some doubts about the developers.

  • Why do most developers code at night? ( Is this true ? )

  • How many hours a day and when do you sleep?

Image description

  • Have you ever hated your code job?

  • Will there be a job crisis in the IT company?

Image description

  • And how do you spend your Holliday/Vacation?

Image description

  • And I heard that most developers learn code in other ways than they do in college. Is this also true? I can not believe it!

Image description

Top comments (33)

Collapse
 
sharplancer profile image
Sharplancer

Hello,
It sounds like you're so curious about the developers.
I'm also a developer with 7+ years of experience, and mostly I do night work.
The biggest reason is because of clients in different time zone.
I always have clients in different time zones behind or ahead 6+ hours.
Another reason is that, in my case I love chatting or meeting in the day and coding at night.
Thank you.

Collapse
 
elsa profile image
Elsa

Thank you so much for your reply😊
I still think of developers today as a magician.
Because you are able to create what you thought🧙‍♂️✨

Collapse
 
sharplancer profile image
Sharplancer

I think you are so keen on developers.
Thanks
Well, you are the first person that I meet in this community.
I'd like to get in touch with you, how about chat on Skype?
If you like it, please search "Sharplancer" and ping me on Skype.

Thread Thread
 
elsa profile image
Elsa

I have not yet used any social media applications except DEV.
But I will try Skype for you my friend 😊

Thread Thread
 
sharplancer profile image
Sharplancer

Thanks
Looking forward to pinging me on Skype

Thread Thread
 
sharplancer profile image
Sharplancer

Hi, how are you?
Why don't you join me on Skype?
I've something to tell you.

Thread Thread
 
elsa profile image
Elsa

mostly I spend my time on reading, so....

Collapse
 
tankemd profile image
Jesús Galindo

Why do most developers code at night? Its not my case nor my colleagues (as far I know), at night I am tired.

How many hours a day and when do you sleep? 7 aprox ... from 12.30am to 7.30am (depends...but usually this).

Have you ever hated your code job? Sure, when you have to do something you dont want, its not interesting or under a lot of stress.

Will there be a job crisis in the IT company? In which one? :D, in our case (and in the whole sector) its too hard to find good people, not all companies can afford some salaries.

And how do you spend your Holliday/Vacation? Trips wherever I haven't been before.

And I heard that most developers learn code in other ways than they do in college. This is true, in college you learn the basics of IT, but this changes every day, new practises, new frameworks, technologies, etc... we have to learn continuously.

Collapse
 
elsa profile image
Elsa

Thank you so much answering me😊
I got to know about developers today...
happy coding :D 👨‍💻

Collapse
 
skinnypetethegiraffe profile image
Bobby Plunkett • Edited

I'll answer them with my opinions in order:

  • I'm not sure why other developers code at night, but I'm personally a night owl even outside of programming and enjoy nighttime.
  • Surprisingly 7-8 hours a night.
  • I've hated many jobs throughout my life, but none of them have ever been in the tech/software field.
  • You never know, it happens in every professional field depending on the market and economy. But I enjoy programming, and didn't consider the future market of developers when choosing to become one myself.
  • Concerts, trips, sitting at home, whatever I have planned or feel like that day.
  • You do not need college to become a successful developer. College has its benefits, though it is not required to make a career in this field. I know quite a few developers (even my seniors) who do not have a college degree.
    • This isn't saying not going to college is easy. It's probably more challenging than most people think.
Collapse
 
elsa profile image
Elsa

really thanks so much for your comments

Collapse
 
diballesteros profile image
Diego (Relatable Code)

Wow this is a lot of questions. Firstly I don't think most programmers code at night. Personally I find myself at my most productive in the mornings, later on in the day my brain is continuely more and more fried.

Sleep: 7-8 hours preferably

Never hated my job nor do I think there will be a job crisis. At least for the forseeable future.

Holiday: Friends and family, hopefully going somewhere internationally.

A ton of programmers learn how to code without College. It is very common. I can say this myself as I am a self-taught developer.

Collapse
 
elsa profile image
Elsa

I am so glad you answered me.
May I know your favorite place or country?

Collapse
 
diballesteros profile image
Diego (Relatable Code)

Wherever my friends or family are

Collapse
 
jonrandy profile image
Jon Randy 🎖️

Why the fake profile image? Unless of course you are Lily Maymac

Collapse
 
elsa profile image
Elsa

Yes, this not my real face. But this is not a mistake🤷

Collapse
 
euankennedy profile image
Euan

Are you an AI, “Elsa”?

Thread Thread
 
elsa profile image
Elsa

haha! nope. I am human just like you :D

Collapse
 
sfleroy profile image
Leroy

During my studies I mostly wrote at night. It gives focus while the day is more chaotic. After starting to work, I think most devs realize the importance of work life balance. We have families and such. But yes we learn on the job a lot of the time and keep up with our industry via news sites blogs, news feeds, conferences and user group meetings. The people who write code at night still are the ones who are still new at it like those coming from other industries and are/were restrained because they have a huge gap which makes learning on the job more difficult.

You definitely keep busy stay on top of this rapidly changing field but it's interesting so not much of a big deal really.

The crisis.. Is for our employers and for those who spend time on LinkedIn due to the huge volume of recruitment spam there. Also I've never hated my job. If I did I wouldn't be doing it. This relates to work life balance as mentioned earlier.

I've been doing this for 5 years, almost 6 :) it can be very diverse.

Collapse
 
elsa profile image
Elsa

So glad for your response.
Thanks so much for your reply :)
I have a suspicion From what age did you first start learning the code?

Collapse
 
sirjager profile image
Ankur Kumar

I have been coding for more than 6 Years.
I code early morning in summer and late night in winters. Morning in summer are so cool and fresh. Where as Winter mornings are too cool and its hard to get out of bed.

Collapse
 
elsa profile image
Elsa

I am really not expect this answer.
I am impressed 😃

Collapse
 
coditdoc profile image
Codeitdoc7

Hey there, Codeitdoc7 this side.
Before I begin, I like to mention that I'm not a developer yet, rather in process.

To answer your first question, well this is not just codeing but everything I do productive is in night, the simple reason being everyone in sleeping at that time, and most importantly it's dark and peaceful, easy to focus.
Now about vacations, I don't have a job yet but I do take time off from coding and during that time I usually watch web series / Photoshoping and exploring new places with friends, karoke nights.

Idk about other developers, but I definitely am not learning to code like they teach us in college. TBH I would have not come this far if I was learning the same way colleges teach us.
Enough about us, tell me about you what are the things you love to do and how did coding began to intrest you?

Collapse
 
elsa profile image
Elsa

Thanks for your comment :)
This is me I wonder about how Internet technologies work

Collapse
 
elsa profile image
Elsa

Thanks for your info :)

Collapse
 
muzeyr profile image
Uzeyr OZ • Edited

Bad joke but I'm still laughing

dev-to-uploads.s3.amazonaws.com/up...

Collapse
 
reactifystudio profile image
Reactify

I am a Kenyan and have to adapt US timezones. Therefore the reason for coding at night. Actually I begin at 2pm

Collapse
 
ironcladdev profile image
Conner Ow

I tend to wake up early in the morning and code. I'm not really a night person so I'll go to bed early and wake up around five in the morning when my brain is fresh.

Collapse
 
elsa profile image
Elsa

really thanks for your comment :D

Collapse
 
elsa profile image
Elsa

really nice...
have a nice day :D

Collapse
 
denever profile image
John Doe

As of my experience, i like to code at night. It's quiet and cool to work and keep running on thoughts all alone with none to bother.

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.