DEV Community

Estevão Watanabe
Estevão Watanabe

Posted on • Updated on

How I configure my echo dot Alexa to turn on my computer

Introduction

I recently got the echo dot Alexa (Echo Dot) for my birthday and I decided to play with Alexa trying to customize commands.

One of the commands that I found super cool on the internet was to turn on my computer using Alexa, so here is the step-by-step how I did it:

Considerations

I configured my Alexa using windows, if you want to configure using another operating system you can use this tutorial as well.

Steps

  1. Enter in Wake on Lan Alexa Skill (wolskill.com) and login in with amazon account

  2. Create a new device in wolskill.com

  3. Add a name for your computer

  4. Add the mac address the computer.

You can get the mac address, on Windows you need to go to Settings > Network & Internet > Ethernet. It's the option “Physical address (MAC)”

  1. Add “AddWake on Lan (WoL)” as a skill into your Alexa using the app (Amazon.com: Wake on Lan (WoL): Alexa Skills)

  2. All the configuratio are done, now to test “Alexa, turn on hopper”, the name_computer is the name you configured in step 2.
    I choose Hopper to honor Gracie Hopper that contributed to advancing computer science as we know it today.

hope you can configure your Alexa too and impress your crush or your family, lol.

Playlist listen when I was writing this tutorial:

https://open.spotify.com/playlist/7h0WH8cs8z76njzNN11fY6?si=8b3ca6ce1c4a430c

That's all folks

Top comments (0)