DEV Community

Emanuele 🍕
Emanuele 🍕

Posted on

How to avoid half-assing all things

The other day I was thinking,

I do not have a lack of ideas, I do not have a lack of enthusiasm to start a project, but I possess an incredible track record for stashing half-done things at different stages of their lifecycle. I don't think I am alone.

Alt Text
Seven years back for example, after a few culinary posts sent into the obvious void and even an attempt to be on camera immediately destroyed by hate comments, I "realized" the world needed a GitHub for recipes and jumped headfirst into the project. It went well, iterating rapidly from napkin sketch to mockup to production (with a side of social) where it slowly died, maybe because of the engineering effort drying me up or simply because If you build it, they will come is one huge bias of programmers.

Alt Text

Alt Text

This project (and several others) died and it will never serve a purpose, and it's a shame because - possibly - someone, somewhere might be commencing the development of a similar web app, from scratch.

I've thought of selling the app (that idea lasted 12 seconds), I thought of open-sourcing the project (making it yet another unmaintained codebase), but maybe what we need, hear me out, is a convention to transfer a project and retain a fractional interest: a standard agreement and a common tag to find opportunities!

Example: Here is 95% of the thing I've developed over years of sweat and tears,
let me keep 5% as I guide you and bring you up to speed with all what I think you need to know to succeed...

It could be as easy as tagging your next project as #NEXT_IN_LINE or #TAKE_OR_LEAVE_IT or #CODE_CODE_PASS ...

Oh, by the way #CODE_CODE_PASS on https://algebro.herokuapp.com/pages/about https://gitlab.com/etozzato/algebro

Top comments (0)