DEV Community

Cover image for Showdev: Fantasy Football Draft Analysis
Evan Oman
Evan Oman

Posted on

Showdev: Fantasy Football Draft Analysis

Based on Ben's post about Fantasy Football I decided I would share a draft analysis I have been running for the last few years for my main Fantasy Football league.

Since 2016 we have been doing live, in-person drafts with no cheat-sheets. This makes things more interesting and forces everyone to be more invested in the league. Plus it is an excuse to see each other and enjoy food + drinks (this year we all met at a friend's place in Chicago).

Since we are all very competitive, I decided to run an analysis to see who had the best draft relative to the ESPN rankings. While each ranking is debatable, consistently going against this ranking probably means that you aren't drafting very well.

So I wrangled the draft data and ESPN rankings into a CSV format and used R to analyze the data. R has some really cool tools like rmarkdown and knitr for making these kind of reports. I combined these tools with all R's data manipulation tools and unparalleled ggplot2 for data visualization. I generated the HTML using knitr locally and then hosted it using GitHub Pages

Anyway, here are the interest parts:

Fave Chart

Code:

FantasyFootball2019

This repo contains some R analysis of my Fantasy Football League for the 2019 Season.




Top comments (0)