DEV Community

EvanRPavone
EvanRPavone

Posted on

MongoDB - My first introduction

Introduction

This week I had a few things I had to focus on so I don’t really have much to talk about. I did however start a new project with React by using the MERN framework which uses ReactJS, NodeJS, ExpressJS and MongoDB. Today I will be trying to tell you about MongoDB.

What is MongoDB?

MongoDB is a NoSQL database that contains a data model, which allows you to store a lot of data and represent relationships. The basic units of data are the key value pairs that are contained in the JSON documents which contain the schema instead of using tables and rows. I come from using Rails to create my backend data, so this is all new to me. This database system also has a lot of characteristics like:

  • Support for ad hoc queries ( loosely typed query/on the fly query)
  • Replication
  • Indexing
  • Load Balancing
  • Data Duplication
  • Schema-less database
  • Procedures instead of JavaScript
  • Easy to maintain/administrate
Common Use

MongoDB is used to store data, manage the data, retrieve data, create web applications and store a lot of data. So basically what you think a database would do for a web application.

Next Week:

As I start my new React Project using this type of framework I will be learning a lot of new things that I would like to share with you so come back next week to see what I have learned using a MERN stack and MongoDB.

Top comments (0)