DEV Community

Evan Winter
Evan Winter

Posted on • Updated on

Publishing my own CSS utility library on NPM

I'm writing this because this is something I find myself creating and re-creating and re-creating every time I start a new side project.

I just wanted a set of simple CSS utility classes based on a few sets of SCSS variables.

Something like this:

$spacing: (
  'xs': 0.25rem,
  'sm': 0.5rem,
  'md': 1rem,
  'lg': 2rem,
  'xl': 4rem,
);

@each $key, $value in $spacing {
  .m-#{$key} {
    margin: $value;
  }
  .p-#{$key} {
    padding: $value;
  }
}

$colors: (
  "black": rgb(33, 33, 33),
  "black-75": rgba(33, 33, 33, 0.75),
  "black-50": rgba(33, 33, 33, 0.5),
  "black-25": rgba(33, 33, 33, 0.25),
  "white": rgb(247, 247, 247),
  "white-75": rgba(247, 247, 247, 0.75),
  "white-50": rgba(247, 247, 247, 0.5),
  "white-25": rgba(247, 247, 247, 0.25),
);

@each $key, $value in $colors {
  .color-#{$key} {
    color: $value;
  }
  .background-#{$key} {
    background-color: $value;
  }
}
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

...which makes available classes like...

.m-sm { margin: 1rem; }
...
.pb-lg { padding-bottom: 2rem; } 
...
.color-black { color: rgb(33, 33, 33); }
...
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

I haven't jumped on the Tailwind train just yet. I've used Tachyons, but even that feels like more than I need, and my brain prefers the class names to be slightly more verbose.

I don't need much — usually just colors, spacing, and breakpoints. Things like m-<size> for margin: <size>; and background-<color> for background-color: <color>;.

I liked the idea of maintaining my own little design-system-like-thing that I can pull into projects to set a baseline that I'm super familiar with. And I was pleasantly surprised with how easy it was to accomplish!

The following is a walkthrough of the steps I followed to publish my package, @evanwinter/styles.

They are specific to publishing a scoped and public npm package, where the source code is written in SCSS.

Write your code

For a bare minimum example, create a folder called css-utilities or whatever you wanna call it.

Create a file called index.scss and put some code like the SCSS code above into it.

Create a package.json

Run the following code, replacing "" with your actual npm username.

For example, this was npm init --scope=@evanwinter for me because my username is "evanwinter".

npm init --scope=@<your-npm-username>
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Follow the prompts, naming your package @<your-npm-username>/css-utilities (or whatever you named your folder, or really whatever you wanna name it).

The entry point ("main" in package.json) should point to your index.scss file — the "root" file of your project.

Add sass dependency

To compile your SCSS into CSS, install the sass package from NPM as a devDependency:

npm install -D sass
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

In your package.json, update the "scripts" entry to look like this:

...
"scripts": {
  "build": "sass index.scss dist/index.css --style=compressed"
},
...
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

This means when npm run build runs, it will convert index.scss into a CSS file and place it at dist/index.css.

Run a build

Run the following:

npm run build
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

You should now see a dist/ folder created, with an index.css file inside it, containing a compressed CSS version of your original index.scss file.

Publish it!

Now you'll just need to log in to npm from your terminal, like so:

npm login
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Go to the URL it gives you, and log in to your npm account.

Then, if successful, return to your terminal and run the following to publish it:

npm publish --access public
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

And that's it!

Use it in another project

To use the CSS classes generated by your new utility library, simply import the library in a CSS file.

For example:

// my-project/index.scss
@import "@evanwinter/styles";
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
...
<p class="m-xs">Hello world</p>
...
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Top comments (0)