DEV Community

Fatma Sheikh
Fatma Sheikh

Posted on

First HacktoberFest 2020

Woohoo, I finally completed my first HacktoberFest challenge! This was a great experience for me, as I not only got to learn more about how to make open-source contributions but also came across some wonderful projects that I had to bookmark.

To all the newbies out there, wondering how can they get started, I would suggest making little contributions to your friends' repositories or your own repos to understand how making a pull request works. But definitely don't lose hope, as getting started with open-source contributions may seem high-techy, but there is always something easy for beginners like you and me.

I would also suggest you join the discord of HacktoberFest as there you will find the right projects to contribute to. That's a key point as in my case it helped me find the right repos more easily and quickly.

Top comments (0)