DEV Community

Cover image for My Journey in Making a Game with .NET MAUI
Farshad Momtaz
Farshad Momtaz

Posted on

My Journey in Making a Game with .NET MAUI

When it comes to making a cross-platform game, the usual suspects are Unity, Unreal Engine, Godot, or Game Maker. But have you considered .NET MAUI? For my .NET MAUI UI July (#MAUIUIJuly) challenge, I decided to create a Sudoku game entirely in .NET MAUI.

I set two goals for myself when creating the app: it needed to look good (at least in my opinion) and it needed to be fast.

As every good project begins, I first needed to understand the requirements: Learning how to play Sudoku! After understanding the logic, I started sketching out some wireframes on paper. The printable wireframes at Sketchize are awesome if you are looking for a good one.

And finally, I started coding.

You can find the full code here at my GitHub: github.com/fdmomtaz/Sudoku-DotNetMaui/

So what did I learn?

You can make a game using .NET MAUI!!!

*MVVM is awesome after you get used to it! *
When you start using it MVVM is really strange but after you spend some time getting used to it and understanding how it works it gets easy and will save you time.

*Use Compiled Bindings *
After coding the Sudoku board and adding the bindings the page was a bit laggy to load. The solution to that problem was easy: compiled bindings!

It's not that hard to add dark mode
Given MAUI has support for dark mode out of the box, just go ahead as use the AppThemeBinding and add alternative color pallet to your app.

Please checkout the app on GitHub and let me know what you think and how can I improve it :)

Top comments (0)