DEV Community

Cover image for Newbie's advice for other development newbies
Federico Taborda
Federico Taborda

Posted on

Newbie's advice for other development newbies

I am trying to learn web development since July 2019. The first 3 months I spent many hours learning html, css and javascript. I felt very confident and when I began to see everything that I really needed to learn I believed that I would not be able to achieve it so I stopped studying.

In February of this year I started programming again, I kept learning NodeJS and React but spent a lot of time procrastinating. May part of the quarantine in my country I was procrastinating. I lost a lot of valuable time and just now think about everything I could have learned.

I keep procrastinating but not as much as before, but I have to go back to study to remember what I had learned.

Also I have the feeling that I am not good enough to learn to program. Luckily I found videos that lifted my spirits to move on.

My advice, although I am very new, is DO NOT procrastinate. Start now with what you want to learn.

I leave you some videos that have helped me lately. I consider these youtubers my mentors.

WebDevSimplified
Traversy Media Video 1
Traversy Media Video 2
Traversy Media Video 3
DevEd Video 1
DevEd Video 2
And others.

I made this post because I read the post by Fahad Imran and I realized that I did everything that I shouldn't do and he opened my mind.

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
steingabriel profile image
Gabriel Stein

My advice to newbies would be: programming is hard and takes a while to make sense. It's like this in the beginning for most of us. Don't let the amount of things to learn to overwhelm you, no programmer knows everything. Focus on learning how to learn, how to solve problems and how to communicate your ideas efficiently. The rest follows along the more you practice and implement knowledge.
And about procrastination, it's a human thing. Even seniors do. It might not look like because we made enough mistakes to become more efficient in our outcome.

Collapse
 
federicotaborda profile image
Federico Taborda

I agree

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.