DEV Community

Cover image for How I demonstrated Growth Mindset recently
fikepaci
fikepaci

Posted on

How I demonstrated Growth Mindset recently

In general growth of mindset in my view, I take it as the way students or people in general believe and understand that their most basic abilities can be developed through their courage, dedication, love what you do and hard work.

How I demonstrated a growth mindset recently

before I apply to Andela I was always with a mindset that I can achieve and pass my test and exams as normal to all students like to study depend on what my teacher gave me only and think that is enough that I know everything I was having to know but since I apply to Andela after seeing Andela adds on internet I fell much interested in it and I decided to apply and try my chance although no enough experience in programming I was having abilities to access on the internet to ask everything I want to know and be replied It was not easy cause always the beginning is hard but I decided to try my best and start on what I have to build my self slow by slow to arrive at good level.

that's how I started learning although I was having a little background in some languages like HTML, CSS, vb,c, c++ cause I was in high school it just only gave us an introduction about it and little practice sometimes.

actual i never knew before what is frontend ,what is backend but because I was wanting to be developer I know it and I start from scratch through viewing different videos on youtube about javascript, nodejs, cause it was my first time I see that languages, and also HTML with CSS cause also I was not having ability to build a simple UI on my own and after applying the time of challenges comes where I was having to evaluate what I know and I failed for the first time and I try again I pass challenge one but on challenge two also I failed and I never give up I keeps working cause I was getting outcome comes from me and my improvement although I did not arrive at good level and I apply again and finally I found myself in Bootcamp after passing all the first challenges and interview.

in general as a conclusion my mindset I can say that already changes I know that nobody qualified for any position unless their hard work makes them qualified and also I know that am the one only responsible for my improvement in whatever I want to achieve that's why I will always try in all my power to work more and achieve more
To get motivated to start doing something, from my own experience, the most effective trick for me is to just do it (sounds trite, but it works). As soon as you think something needs to be done, jump into it, doing it immediately (of course, provided the conditions are feasible). You must not think about anything else, suppressing all other thoughts, keeping your mind blank, acting like a robot. Yes, it sounds weird, but it does work! Otherwise, you will debate whether you should do it now or there were too many issues with doing it, or there are other more pleasurable and exciting things to do over this boring task.

There is only one way for me to motivate myself to work hard: I don’t think about it as hard work. I think about it as part of making myself into who I want to be. Once I’ve made the choice to do something, I try not to think so much about how difficult or frustrating or impossible that might be; I just think about how good it must feel to be that, or how proud I might be to have done that. Make hard look easy.

Top comments (0)