DEV Community

Cover image for Two days ago I released Matter
Bence Szabo
Bence Szabo

Posted on

Two days ago I released Matter

This was the first release of Matter. I never did open source before, so this was my first release ever in the scene.

This project goes back to around half a year before, when I needed just a few nice looking components for a CodePen demo. Buttons, Slider, Switch, Textfield, some of the usual components of a web page. I'm a big fan of Material Design, and I couldn't find any lean and simple way to integrate these Material components into my Pen. I thought it shouldn't be hard to implement them.

I'm a big fan of Pure CSS Stuff too. I wondered if these components could be done without JavaScript. It turns out you can go a long way with this restriction. Not full blown functionality though, but enough for a lot of use-cases.

CodePen has a nice community, I received some good feedback for the Material components. Yet, the Pens were still kind of impractical. I mean, I spent quite some time to perfect each of them, and there was no easy way for others to benefit from them. Next step: open source.

In the last two months I have been figuring out solutions for the typical problems (I guess) of an open source project. The most time I spent on was testing, and I think it's one of the best things of the project! (But what do you test in CSS? - you might ask, well that's another story). Anyways, Matter has a 0.1.0 release. It ain't much, but it's honest work:

13 Matter Components

I can imagine a number of directions this project would go, I wonder which one will it be...

Top comments (0)