DEV Community

Ray
Ray

Posted on

The Spring Workload and Auditing My Progress

Where Ya Been

I planned to write a blog post at the end of February talking about how much I got done in the month - reading that post I laid out some pretty hefty goals for a single month. Especially while I was still working.

However, at the time I was working maybe 16 hours a week? At the very least it was an amount that made me feel as if I could have multiple days off a week to work on projects.

That didn't exactly go as planned. As one might be able to tell.

The main purpose of this blog is to audit the amount of work I got done over the last 3 and a half months and plot a course for the next couple. It's not meant to be a big long document where I kick myself for not working hard enough because frankly, that's unhealthy. Plus I have good reasons for not getting any work done!

These last few months have been... well not stressful, but busy. Work picked up in a way that I did not expect as inventory and the spring seasonal came in full force over March and April. I was working between 30 and 40 hours a week at that time and I don't blame myself for not having worked on projects. Likewise, for the last half of April I tested positive for covid-19 which is not an illness that is easy to work on the computer with, I'll tell you.

So fine, I don't think kicking myself for not getting that lengthy list of projects done is helpful so I won't do it. However, like I said previously, I would like to take a look at that list and plan how I will get it finished soon and move on to the many other ideas in my head.

Goals 2

1. Implement my second feature into RayAi

This was not done for a reason I'll reveal in a bit, but as well, I didn't work on it because I haven't felt terribly inspired to work on it. I think at least 1 more feature is something I want to get done pronto but after that I think I'll put this one on the back burner for some new projects I have in mind. It's already on the back burner for...

2. Move my personal website to a better url

This one was simple in hindsight but annoying the way I did it. So I was recommended to a friend to use a VPS provided by a cheap and efficient provider. I thought this was a great idea at first, but I quickly realized setting it up was much more annoying than a slightly more expensive provider that made things easier. I fooled around with the VPS for a while and after deciding that I didn't want to be a server administrator and instead wanted to be a developer, I switched to a much simpler provider that allowed me to deploy my static site at https://raymondrambo.ca/ overnight.

So that's a win!

3. Start on a React project

This one actually got done too! A family member has a small business and I offered to build them an e-commerce website from the ground up. I've run into a snag or two from learning more about React and I'm at the point in my development where I'm realizing I need to integrate the e-commerce elements from the start. But hopefully, I can finish this project up, since it feels like it's moving quickly, and move onto another React project.

So what's next?

Well, I don't think I'll be making a big showing of it in this blog post, but I have a few goals that I would like to accomplish before I write another.

The first is to finish up this e-commerce platform and put it under my belt. Having a project like this I feel will look really good and give a huge sense of satisfaction. Plus I can commission friends who have small businesses to build them something similar once I know how to do everything. :)

The second is to finally get to work on that Discord bot again. I like developing this bot for Discord but it takes a lot of time and I don't usually have the patience for it. It's nice the see the fruits of your labour though. I have ideas.

Finally, I would like to get started on a NEW new project, probably in React, and as well as the Discord bot, I have some ideas.

So these goals are in chronological order and if I get through the e-commerce platform and the Discord bot but don't start a new project, I'll be ok. But I absolutely would like to see these to fruition quickly.

Until next time!

Top comments (0)