DEV Community

Cover image for An article ... to help your first dev.to article
Francesco Ciulla
Francesco Ciulla

Posted on • Updated on

An article ... to help your first dev.to article

Writing articles for a developer is very important.

It helps to understand the importance of the change of mentality and to become a content creator. this was one of the most useful articles I wrote, I hope it will come in handy

To me, it helped to start creating content that led me to have a youtube channel.

https://www.youtube.com/c/FrancescoCiulla

We will go step by step in what you need in order to publish your first article here, on Dev.to, which is a great platform!

๐Ÿ‘ฃ Steps:

  • motivation
  • chose the topic
  • learn the basics of Markdown
  • write it
  • check it
  • chose a nice picture
  • Publish Post it on Twitter or other socials

๐Ÿ‹๏ธโ€โ™‚๏ธ Motivation

I think this is the most difficult part.

Because you might think that "Why should I write an article on that topic, there are tons of them out there."

Just don't worry about that, as with coding, the important part is getting started!

Think of it as something you need to do! To be honest, you MUST do it if you want to improve yourself!


๐Ÿ’ก Chose the topic

I suggest that you choose a topic in which you are very confident, something you may have used multiple times in your programming career.

For me, since I like programming in Unity3D, it was an article about the event system, that I personally use to create my Unity3D apps.

https://medium.com/@francescociullaroma/simple-event-system-for-unity-3d-8fe24ed7c7ce

It is still available only on medium and I will soon make a version for Dev.to.

If you have no topics you are confident in, simply write down what you are studying right now. It could be useful to someone who hasn't started yet, and she/he knows less about you on that subject!


MD Markdown

I suggest that you learn the basics of markdown.

You don't have to be a Markdown Guru to start!

To start: https://github.com/adam-p/markdown-here/wiki/Markdown-Cheatsheet

More detailed: https://daringfireball.net/projects/markdown

You can use an IDE, of course, I like VScode because it has this write/preview feature and you can see the result of the article while you are writing it!

Alt Text

An important thing: You can embed your code with this syntax:

Alt Text

Result

const a = "Hello World"
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

โœ๏ธ Write the article

This is where you create your little, basic article.

It doesn't have to be very long, is your first one and probably nobody is gonna read it ๐Ÿ˜…, even if it is good, just because so few people know that you can write a good article. Try to make one article every 2 days and you will see the difference

Think like you're writing some notes for yourself in the future.


โœ… Check it!

This part is where I am still very lacking.

You wrote the article and are so excited to share it with the world that you don't want to read it all over again because you're lazy like me.

You should do it, you could be surprised by the number of typos (I do a lot!)


๐ŸŒ‡ Chose a nice cover picture

The content could be the best, but it is important to choose a good image, you can use for example:

https://unsplash.com/

You can add a cover picture by clicking this, on the top-right corner:

Alt Text

The best size is 1000x420px

Important! Remember that the images may still be under copyright, even if they are on that site or on any! For example, I try to avoid using movie or Disney characters


๐Ÿ™Œ Publish and Post it!

You can publish the article, don't worry you can always edit it later!

Now the fun part => Post it on Twitter!

From Dev.to it's pretty simple! Click on the Twitter icon, add some tags and click that button!

Don't be afraid to do that, you can congratulate yourself now!


If this article helped you to write an article, leave a comment!

My YouTube Channel

https://www.youtube.com/c/FrancescoCiulla

Top comments (16)

Collapse
 
divewitholeg profile image
vuewebdev

Thank you for sharing details about markdown usage. Do you know by chance what is the min/max/optimal number of words or characters for a dev.to article?

Collapse
 
francescoxx profile image
Francesco Ciulla

no sorry

Collapse
 
iamscr1pty profile image
Biswajit Pramanik

Thanks for sharing , I get demotivated because of the first point every time I try to write one . Hope I will write some on the language I am learning now

Collapse
 
francescoxx profile image
Francesco Ciulla

Let me know when you managed to write your first one!

Collapse
 
iamscr1pty profile image
Biswajit Pramanik

Sure!

Collapse
 
francescoxx profile image
Francesco Ciulla

Good luck with that!! send the link when it is done!

Collapse
 
mathewsmusukuma profile image
Mathews Musukuma

Awesome I have written one, just editing it

Collapse
 
francescoxx profile image
Francesco Ciulla

Great! Was this helpful?

Collapse
 
mathewsmusukuma profile image
Mathews Musukuma

Yes it was.

Collapse
 
krishnakakade profile image
krishna kakade

for my last article i seen your article for writing it properly and that ? mark thing ๐Ÿ•ถโค๐Ÿ”ง๐Ÿฑโ€๐Ÿ

Collapse
 
francescoxx profile image
Francesco Ciulla

Nice!

Collapse
 
chrishely profile image
chrishely

Great work Francesco! thanks!

Collapse
 
francescoxx profile image
Francesco Ciulla

Thanks to you! If you menage to write one, send me the link!

Collapse
 
gauravgaur1981 profile image
Gaurav Gaur

It's a great platform. Thanks for bootstrapping me in here!

Collapse
 
francescoxx profile image
Francesco Ciulla

Happy to help!

Collapse
 
puruvj profile image
PuruVJ

I made my own blog and started writing on it because of this article only. Thank you Francesco!

// Shameless Plug: My blog -> puruvj.dev