DEV Community

Gabriel Diem
Gabriel Diem

Posted on

Grub-customizer won't change your GRUB theme in Kali Linux? Try this

If you are familiar with desktop Linux distributions, maybe you are dual booting with another OS, you may have used at some point in time the grub-customizer program to change the appearance of the GRUB (GRand Unified Bootloader) screen. As a casual Linux user it has been my main way of customizing grub when dual booting Ubuntu with Windows.

I recently switched laptops and Linux distro to Kali with KDE Plasma and fired grub-customizer as usual. I was surprised to find out that it didn't change the grub theme, despite the grub config file literally using the pre-made theme downloaded from Gnome-look.

Long story short, after some mostly unfruitful investigation and digging into the grub files spread around my Kali installation I concluded that 3 main files have to be modified in order to effectively have the theme changed and they are:

  • /boot/grub/grub.cfg
  • /etc/default/grub
  • /etc/default/grub.d/kali-themes.cfg

Grub-customizer did change the first file and updated it with the proper theme.txt location from the theme I downloaded, let's call it myTheme.

After noticing that I manually changed the GRUB_THEME entry in /etc/default/grub with the correct theme location, which was /boot/grub/themes/myTheme/theme.txt.

Then I did the same thing with the /etc/default/grub.d/kali-themes.cfg file and surprise, surprise, it worked!

By this point, the grub theme was fully changed and properly adjusted to my liking. There was a little weird thing happening though, after selecting an OS in the grub screen, no matter if it was Kali or Windows, a default Kali theme image was shown for a second or so, which I wanted to change to not show anything and just load the OS. The workaround to solve this was to load a pure black image (all black pixels) before loading the theme in the /etc/default/grub.d/kali-themes.cfg which I find a little weird because the theme.txt of myTheme already defines a background image. Anyway, the file would contain something like this:

GRUB_BACKGROUND="/boot/grub/themes/kali/black.png"
GRUB_THEME="/boot/grub/themes/myTheme/theme.txt"

And done! The theme got changed and no weird image flashes disturbed my grub screen, so I was happy with the result 😊.

Top comments (0)