DEV Community

Wilfredo Pérez
Wilfredo Pérez

Posted on

Are covers letters important to apply for a job?

I'm from Venezuela and here are unusual the cover letters, here is enough only your CV to apply for any job, but after one year working remote, home based, for different companies that I didn't send a cover letter, are these important?

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
lpasqualis profile image
Lorenzo Pasqualis

I agree with Ben. It is not necessary, but it does help to highlight your resume over similar others. I recommend keeping it short and making sure that it's personalized to the position you are applying for. A couple of paragraphs is all you need to write. Make sure to mention why the job seems to be a good fit for your skills and why you are interested in the company you are applying for. Important to give a sense that you did your research and you have a good impression of the company.

Collapse
 
gameoverwill profile image
Wilfredo Pérez

Yeah!! I agree with you. The cover letter is something that can give you a plus before the interview. I think that at this moment for the most awesome companies is important that you send one attached with you cv.

So I will write a draft, and I'll customize depending on the company.

Thank a lot for you response.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I'm not sure if it always needs to be as formal as a cover letter, but yeah, I'd say a personal note to go along with the CV would help your cause a lot. It helps de-genericize you as a candidate.

Collapse
 
gameoverwill profile image
Wilfredo Pérez

Yeah I think is depending on the company, I was looking for apply for a job in Facebook, Amazon and others, and the cover letter was optional but for these companies are important that you take some minutes and write down about who you are, what did you do in anothers jobs, goals and achievements.

You said something important:

'd say a personal note to go along with the CV would help your cause a lot. It helps de-genericize you as a candidate.

So I'll take time to write down my cover letter the best that I can.

Thank you.