DEV Community

Genne23v
Genne23v

Posted on

Hi, There! I'm Wonkeun, Software Developer in Toronto

My name is Wonkeun. I'm currently studying Computer Programming and Analysis in Seneca College in Toronto. And I'm about to start my first open source project through the course OSD600.

The reason why I chose this course is that I often hear try open source project and learn from it. Moreover, one of the senior developer in my co-op told me that participating in open source projects will be a great way to improve my skills. Now I have a bit of understanding why he told me that after I experienced a large code base in a real business. It is amazing to develop something from a scratch but it is also very important to read someone else's code, and understand quickly how it works, and fix a real world problem. In addition, it is always helpful to get advice from someone more experienced than me.

The expectation that I have in this course is that I will get myself familiarized in how the open source project works and what it is like to be in the open source community. So that this can be my trigger point to do more contributions and learning for my future career, or just my interest to do something cool with like-minded people. Obviously I will choose a project that I have some familiarity already. I will consider programming language first, then the fields of my interest such as technology, hobby, and lastly the size or popularity of the project.

The one that I picked in trending list is Selenium. LINK to repo

Selenium is a popular UI testing frameworks supporting many different languages. I learned Java, Python and Ruby versions of Selenium for the interview and have Selenium automated testing and writing test scripts experiences.

Here's my reasoning why I chose this project.

  1. I want to improve my Java and Python skills as I didn't have much chances to use them
  2. I have some familiarity with Selenium as I wrote some testing scripts in the company
  3. It is a large project that will give me some challenges

I know it can be so overwhelming at the beginning but I believe it is a challenge to move onto next level. So I'm worried a bit, at the same time, I'm very excited to do my first open source project!

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
verunar profile image
veronika

good luck!

Collapse
 
genne23v profile image
Genne23v

Thanks! I think I can enjoy this project.