DEV Community

geraldarzy
geraldarzy

Posted on

Starting Something New

So why did I decide to to pick up coding and study to become a software engineer?
The biggest reason that I have is not too motivating but rather just comforting. As a teenager in high school, I played video games just like anybody else. Although it wasn't until I decided to build my own computer that I discovered my love for technology. After being exposed to the process of holding bare computer parts in my hand and connecting them to the motherboard to make something work, I began to realize how much I liked fidgeting with electronics. I began to take apart my old electronics that didn't work anymore and tried to study the inside. I took apart my broken laptop and I used the screen as an external monitor using some adapters that I bought off ebay. This assured me that I wanted to go study something in the field of electronics. The question then became "Computer Science vs. Computer Engineer".
Years later I accumulated small bits of knowledge about coding and realized how essential and powerful it was. I took that same mentality I had as a kid in high school and applied it to making something work using a computer language rather than bare computer parts. The moment that I realized you can make countless of things using just computer language, I knew that I wanted to know everything there was about it.

Top comments (0)