DEV Community

Gilfoyle
Gilfoyle

Posted on

How I was able to make $150,000 fresh out of college

In this post I am going to be talking about how I was able to make fix figures fresh out of college as a Software Engineer. Before getting into that though, I want to give you a quick background about my eduction.

Background

I went to a state university in The San Francisco Bay Area for a degree in Computer Science. I wasn't an A student at all, I was barely making it.

The Path to $150,000

During my 3rd year in college I started practicing for interviews to get an internship (it's important to get an internship during college.) After interviewing for 3 months, I was able to land an internship at a non-tech company. The pay wasn't that great ($20/hr), but I wanted something to add on my resume to be able to get another internship or a full-time job. The internship lasted 3 months. After that I continued interviewing for other internships and I was able to get another internship at a tech startup this time. By the time I finished this internship I was in my last semester in college, so I started applying for full time jobs. My job hunt for a full time job lasted for the whole semester. I was able to get around 11 interviews, I failed 8 of them and got 3 offers. I picked the best one based on the salary and the company name.

Top comments (0)