DEV Community

Gisela Rossi
Gisela Rossi

Posted on

Nevertheless, Gisela Coded

I began coding...

When I started university! I did both my bachelor's and master's in Computer Science without never having programmed before that (which seem crazy to most people when I started).
I loved my degree and I wouldn't change it for the world. But many times during my studies I was the only woman in the room and the diversity was almost null. I wish we could inspire other girls and women to dare join us and that'll create a more inclusive environment.

I'm currently hacking on...

I work as a back-end python programmer, and I love it! I think python is an elegant and interesting language to learn and use on a regular basis. Currently reading "Fluent python" and I recommend it.

I'm excited about...

Many things! Learning new stuff is always top of the list for me :)
Currently, I'm very excited about mentoring girls at coding. What brings me to...

CodingDojo for girls in West London every month!

I'm volunteering in a coding dojo for kids, where I'm in charge of preparing material and teaching python to the most awesome group of "pythonettes" I could have asked for.
If you are in London and you'll like to bring your daughter/niece/grandchild/students to learn python for free, please do!!
There are other groups teaching other things as well.

The dates here ---> www.coderdojoham.org

My advice for other women who code is...

Everyone is a beginner at some point. Be at peace with that fact and honour the space between where you are now and your goals.

A lot of times it's going to be...
sexist jokes
mansplaining
more pressure on you than on your male peers
people saying things such as "boys just code better than girls"

Is it striving for it still worth it?
Absolutely.

Top comments (0)