DEV Community

Ganesh Prasad
Ganesh Prasad

Posted on

Can I get a review of my portfolio

Folks, recently I redesigned and rewrote my portfolio. Can I get a review of the site ? Here is it.

gnsp.in

Top comments (11)

Collapse
 
wangonya profile image
Kelvin Wangonya

I loved the minimalism of your previous site design. I must say though, the current design looks amazing.

I don't know if it's just me, but the scrolling seems to be lagging sometimes.

But overall, very unique. You, sir, are a very talented individual 👏🏽 👏🏽

Collapse
 
gnsp profile image
Ganesh Prasad

Thanks for the review. :)

The previous version was written in ironscript, a programming language I had developed back in 2016. I had to write my own virtual DOM implementation and all. for the previous version I had to stick with minimalism.

This version however, uses the latest version of react. So I decided to go rather extravagant with it. The lag in scroll is possibly because of the digital rain animation in the background. I think that can be optimized more.

Collapse
 
flrnd profile image
Florian Rand • Edited

Hey Ganesh, do you know 'the emperor new clothes' story?

Asking on internet it's very similar to that story.

My honest review (as a designer):

The good:
It looks like you dumped a lot of time and passion in that redesign, that's really good.

The bad:
What strickes me, is how a talented painter like you did choose Matrix and all that cluttered stuff to present your work.

My tip, a porfolio it's a tool to Showcase your work, the protagonist should be your work, not the other way around.

Good job but you need to review It and unclutter It 😅

Collapse
 
gnsp profile image
Ganesh Prasad

Thanks for the review :)

I have already disabled the matrix on mobile devices. I wanted to break away from the conventional and experiment a bit with some sort of dynamic background. This digital rain animation was the first thing to come to my mind. But indeed, it clutters the site bigtime. Maybe I would experiment with wireframe shapes or subtle shifting shadows next to add a little bit of dynamism to the background

Collapse
 
flrnd profile image
Florian Rand • Edited

This is great Ganesh, I love experimenting too.

I usually dump the first round of ideas because tend to be the conventional ones. If you check my blog, It looks like crap because I use It as a experimenting playground and it's okey, but I won't use it to showcase my design work.

You're doing great and no doubt a talented guy (your paintings are awesome), I'm sure you'll find your way.

Collapse
 
Sloan, the sloth mascot
Comment deleted
Collapse
 
gnsp profile image
Ganesh Prasad

Thanks for the review. :) The jank in scroll is due to the digital rain animation. I will disable that on mobile devices until I find something dynamic and preformant for the background.

I visited your homepage. It's minimal and concise and offers essential information upfront. I suppose you could add links to your linkedin, dev etc on the homepage too.

Collapse
 
anshsaini profile image
Ansh Saini

I'm not a huge fan of the matrix in the background. Takes away the professionalism.
But it's a great portfolio regardless!

Collapse
 
gnsp profile image
Ganesh Prasad

Thanks for the review :)
The matrix in the background is making the scroll jank as well. I just wanted something dynamic for the background to try out something new and the matrix was the first thing that came to my mind

Collapse
 
bmitchinson profile image
Ben Mitchinson

Looks amazing wow! Thanks for the inspiration

Collapse
 
yomeshgupta profile image
Yomesh Gupta

Looks great! I love the whole theme of the website. Feels like I have entered the matrix. :D