DEV Community

Emmanuel Godwin HOUENOU
Emmanuel Godwin HOUENOU

Posted on

Don't be web programming languages followers, rather be problem solvers.

I hope this post helps someone who’s considering a career in software engineering, or maybe not—you never know. This is just a lesson I’ve learned on my own over time, and I’d like to share it with you all. I’m especially speaking to those who are just starting in the field.

I was a huge JavaScript fan. I defended it fiercely. 😅😅😅

JavaScript is super accessible, and everything feels easier and cooler, especially with the popularity of libraries, frameworks, and the community. But that's where the trap lies. It's easy to get attached to the ecosystem, and if you're not careful, you can find yourself in an endless race.

There are way too many libraries and frameworks, and new ones are popping up every day. The ecosystem evolves rapidly, and as a result, you quickly become outdated. You either have to adapt to the latest version of your favorite framework or library, or learn a new one that’s trending and highly demanded in the market.

I believe there are more important things to focus on than chasing after languages. Key concepts like Data Structures and Algorithms (DSA) are language-independent and highly beneficial because they form a solid foundation. These are also the concepts that big companies like FAMMG base their interviews on.

There are many software engineering concepts you should know, like design patterns, software architecture, system design (which is different from design systems), networking basics, and many more. The list goes on.

It’s important not to get too attached to a single language, and to avoid pointless debates comparing languages that lead to frustration and sometimes even insults. I've been there. 😅😅

That said, everyone has their own way of thinking and seeing things. This was just a lesson I learned at one point in my journey. Hopefully, it helps someone. 😊

Top comments (0)